Uncategorized

One Lovely Blog Award-Thank You!

images1Hi everyone! I am so trilled and honored to be nominated for the “One Lovely Blog Award.” I am so thankful to leadership2mommyship for the nomination. Sharon’s blog is a wonderful site that provides great insight into the multifaceted role of a leader and mother. Sharon is a retired service member, and so her blog also illustrates her commitment to her country and fellow brothers and sisters who work in service for our country. I encourage you all to visit her blog; You won’t be disappointed!

Sharon, thank you for taking the time to visit my blog, and more, thank you for being so kind and supportive of my efforts; that means a great deal to me. I can’t express how much your kindness and encouragement are appreciated.

Seven Facts About Me!

  • I love to travel. I enjoy exploring new places, but the truth is that I love certain cities, and I don’t like to go too long without returning to them. My favorite place to spend time away from home is Quebec City. My father moved to the U.S. as a child, so a large portion of my family still lives in Quebec and it just feels like another home to me.
  • I have deep roots. While I do enjoy traveling, I have stayed close to my childhood home my entire life, mostly because I want to be near my extended family.
  • I have a soft spot for dogs, especially my own. I have two dogs: a miniature dachshund, K.C., and Sheprador, Rudy. Rudy is actually my grand dog. I could not stand the thought of my daughter taking him to the Humane Society when she could no longer keep him, so he lives with me now.
  • I have an Ed.D. in Instruction and Curriculum-Diversity Studies, and I teach at a state college. I also have a M.A. in Communication Arts, and I used to work in public relations.
  • I enjoy nature; I am amazed by plants, although for some reason I am not very good at growing them.
  • I love tea, and I mean any kind of tea. My favorite thing to do is to sit on the porch with my husband and a glass of sweet tea to watch the day pass by.
  • I’m a bit of a beach snob. I live on the Gulf Coast of Florida, so we have a stretch of about 120 miles of beaches with sand that looks like sugar-blinding white with the glare of the sun. As a result, it’s hard to impress me with a beach. I admit this with a least a small amount of shame for my snobbery.

 

Nominees: I want you all to know that I think you are all are doing a great job! Please feel free to participate in this activity or not. I know that many of you are extremely busy people, so if you do not have the time to complete the task, that is not a problem at all. Keep up the good work!

ADD…and so much more

Aroused

Three Worlds One Vision

Barsetshire Diaries

Espiritu en Fuego/A Fiery Spirit

Mick Canning

The Clarity of Mind

Sun in Gemini

Blog Of A Mad Black Woman

My Life

The Rules

  • Thank the person who nominated you and leave a link to their blog
  • Post about the award
  • Share seven facts about yourself
  • Nominate no more than 15 people
  • Tell your nominees the good news

Thanks again to leadership2mommyship  :0)

14 thoughts on “One Lovely Blog Award-Thank You!

  1. As I don’t ‘do’ awards I will post a brief response here …
    1. I have traveled heaps but prefer home now!
    2. I adapt readily to new homes, jobs and countries.
    3. I also love dogs and often take care of them when friends go away
    4. I have post-grad quals but volunteering now
    5. Totally love nature, walking, cycling, caving, hiking … bring it on!
    6. Loathe tea, am known as a water drinker
    7. I also live on the beach in Queensland, but NO snobbery here – happy to share it with everyone.
    Appreciate being included and you don’t mind this adaptation?

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Nice. Loathe tea? That’s mind boggling for a tea lover😄 I am only a snob in that I compare other beaches to my own, but I happily share mine too. Heck, we have tourists everywhere in the summer months, which is great for the local economy. Thanks for posting😊 I enjoyed it!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for the nomination, but I don’t do awards, either. so…I love tea, preferably Darjeeling. First thing in the morning though, it has to be real coffee. I love travelling, especially India and Nepal, As well as writing, I also paint. In the ‘real world’ I teach outdoor sports. I prefer cats to dogs and I’m really not a winter person.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. How fascinating to read your answers. I love learning more about my blog-buddies and wish I had the time to handle the requirements for accepting awards, as well as to nominate others with lovely blogs (it would take quite some time to winnow down my list of those deserving – and most would not have the time to be able to accept either, I believe).

    Thank you so very much for considering my blog award-worthy. As I am able, I will jump over to take a look at the blogs I don’t already read.

    7 bits of self-disclosure in return –
    1. An Air Force brat and oldest of 5 children, I changed schools yearly until my High School years, always the new kid at school until then.
    2. Higher education focused on theatre and English – grad school in theatre, which was my first career – almost 20 years in NYC, much of that as a struggling actor who was well-respected but never launched into stardom (where I could actually expect to make a living). I miss NYC like a lover and wish I’d never relocated, despite the outrageous cost of living there.
    3. I taught college for 2 years (graduate teaching assistantship) and spent almost 2 decades teaching adults virtually, most of that time through the curriculum I developed (brain-based coach training)
    4. I am a BIGTIME neurodiversity and mental health advocate.
    5. I have always been an avid coffee drinker – even iced, have never preferred tea and find southern style sweet tea far TOO sweet for my taste buds. When served hot tea, I drink it politely but very milky, like the Brits, never with lemon. I do drink the herbals (with honey) for various reasons, especially blends to help with sleep at night.
    6. As a melanoma survivor I’m not a beach person, but adore low friendly (shady) mountains like the Smokies. Since I am extremely heat-sensitive, mountain climate suits me better anyway.
    7. If I could relocate it would be to Canada – especially these days. I am progressive in my thinking and ashamed of what is happening in my country today.

    Oh, and I am beyond crazy about my puppy TinkerToy, a 10-1/2 pound Shih Tzu (who guest blogs from time to time – lol)

    Thanks again for thinking of me as deserving of an award.
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMORE dot com)
    ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder
    “It takes a village to educate a world!”

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks for sharing! I’m so glad to hear of your survival; melanoma is scary stuff. My husband spent a year in treatment when our oldest two children were small. He survived lymphoma, and I remember vividly the stress of the time. I also do not like the heat, and I’m fair, so no sun for me, but I do like to look at the beach in the late afternoon-pretty. It’s so awesome that you spent time acting; that must have been very exciting. And I’m right there with you regarding shame about the direction of our country 😳 I’ll keep my eye out for TinkerToy’s next post, for sure😊 Thanks again. I enjoyed it!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I get my beach pretties mostly from movies. I can’t go out unless I’m greased up with hi-octane sun block. YUCK. And I loved my acting years – it was all I ever wanted to do.

        I’m sorry to hear about your husband’s struggle and happy to hear he survived.
        xx, mgh
        ~~~~~~~
        And now, a note from Tink:

        THANKS for liking my posts — I think they’re a lot more fun and interesting than Mom’s.
        Woof! TINK

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m sorry I thought I had responded to this! Congratulations again, and as everyone else has commented it’s always fun to learn more about fellow bloggers. And you’re very welcome for the nomination. And by the way, I have not forgot about posting in honor of your friend. Coming soon…was in California, by the beach. And the water was way too cold to enjoy! I think it’s okay to be a beach snob in that case. 😃

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

